The Program has received several awards including:

The International Association for Social Work with Groups (IASWG) honored PSOT at its 2016 symposium for the Program’s work with survivors of torture, specifically our group work initiatives.

New York City Council Proclamation

The Roger E. Joseph Prize from Hebrew Union College

The National Association of Public Hospitals’ Vulnerable Population Award.

The Program Director, Dr. Allen Keller, is the first American to have received the Barbara Chester Award from the Hopi Foundation in recognition of his work with torture survivors.

In December 2006, Clinical Director Dr. Hawthorne E. Smith received the Robin Hood Foundation's "New York Hero" award which honored his work at PSOT.

In 2005, Dr. Hawthorne Smith and Dr. Adeyinka Akinsulure-Smith were the recipients of the Early Career Award at Columbia Teachers College, an award established to honor recent graduates of the school who have shown distinction in their fields.

In 2003, Carol Prendergast was the recipient of Common Cause's "Ethical New York" award, honoring her work in the struggle for human rights, social justice and ethical and responsive government in the United States.

Program for Survivors of Torture

Connect With Us

Bellevue Hospital Center, 462 First Avenue, CD732 New York, NY 10016, Tel 212-562-8713, Fax 212-562-4436

Copyright © 2013 Bellevue NYU Program for Survivors of Torture. All rights Reserved  |  Privacy Policy |  Website Design

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon